Update 4/25/18: Dean Henke appointed to vacant board seat

At an April 24 special meeting, the Osseo School Board appointed former board member Dean Henke to the seat that was vacated by Robert Gerhart’s resignation earlier this year. Henke previously served on the board for 13 years, including five as chair. He will formally take office on June 5, following a mandatory 30-day waiting period. Henke will serve until January 2019, completing the remainder of Gerhart’s term.

Per School Board Policy and Procedure 203, the ISD 279 School Board will appoint a district resident to complete the remainder of a four-year term of a board member who resigned. The term of the appointment runs until January 2019.

The deadline to apply for appointment to the vacant seat was 4:30 p.m. on Tuesday, April 3, 2018.

Following board screening of applications, the top three applicants were invited to address the school board at a special meeting on April 24, at 6 p.m. At that same meeting, the board is expected to identify and then take formal action to appoint their candidate of choice. Following a mandatory 30-day waiting period, the appointed candidate will take the oath of office and begin service on June 5.

The three applicants who will address the school board on April 24 are:

  • Jennifer Asp (city of residence: Plymouth)
  • Dean Henke (city of residence: Maple Grove)
  • Tanya Simons (city of residence: Brooklyn Park)

Chair Mike Ostaffe said, "We are very thankful for such a talented group of civic-minded individuals who applied."