Main Navigation

ISD 279 - Osseo Area Schools

Navigation - Utility Portals

Breadcrumb, don't delete

Landing-nav, don't delete

District 279 educators named candidates for 2021 Minnesota Teacher of the Year

Osseo Area Schools is proud to announce that educators Kris Holsen, Peter Pearson and Jessica Stewart are among 75 teachers statewide to be nominated for the 2021 Minnesota Teacher of the Year award.

Holsen is the drama teacher at Birch Grove Elementary School for the Arts, Pearson teaches fourth grade at Fernbrook Elementary, and Stewart is a social studies educator at Osseo Senior High. 

In the weeks ahead, an independent panel of education, business, government, nonprofit and philanthropic leaders will read candidates' portfolios and identify a group of semifinalists. In March, the panel will reconvene to review additional materials from semifinalists and choose a group of finalists. Depending on COVID-19 activity, the scheduled 2021 Minnesota Teacher of the Year banquet, set for May 2 at the Saint Paul RiverCentre, may be postponed. 

The Minnesota Teacher of the Year program is organized and underwritten by Education Minnesota and receives support from several other organizations and businesses.

Candidates for 2021 Minnesota Teacher of the Year include prekindergarten through grade 12, early childhood, and adult basic education teachers at public and private schools statewide.

Pictured in the slideshow below are Kris Holsen (first picture), Peter Pearson (second picture) and Jessica Stewart (third picture). 

kris holsen
peter pearson
jessica stewart