mn teacher of year logo   

Two Osseo Area Schools teachers have been named candidates for 2017 Minnesota Teacher of the Year. They are:

  • Breanna Blad, kindergarten teacher at Basswood Elementary
  • Dennis Loeks, vocal music teacher at Palmer Lake Elementary (Loeks was also a candidate in 2016.)

Over the coming weeks, a panel of 25 community leaders will narrow down the current field of 132 candidates to a select group of semifinalists and finalists. The 2017 Minnesota Teacher of the Year will be announced Sunday, May 7, at the Radisson Blu Mall of America in Bloomington.

Education Minnesota, the 70,000-member statewide educators union, organizes and underwrites the Teacher of the Year program with support from several other organizations and businesses. Candidates include pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade teachers and Adult Basic Education teachers from public or private schools.

Since 2014, there have been a dozen Osseo Area Schools nominations for Minnesota Teacher of the Year candidates.

 mn teach 2017 Breanna Blad   mn teach 2017 dennis loeks